Ganguly, Jay Shah set for 2nd innings as SC allows BCCI’s proposed change in constitution | Cricket News


NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court on Wednesday approved BCCI’s proposal to amend its constitution to allow two consecutive terms to its president, secretary and other office-bearers irrespective of their earlier innings in state associations.
The decision will allow president Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah to get an extension to their respective terms.
The Supreme Court said that the office bearers can have continuous tenure of 12 years which includes six years in State Association and six years in BCCI.
“Office bearers can have 2 consecutive terms of 3 years each on one post in BCCI and similarly in State after which cool off period will come. The purpose of the cooling-off period is not to create undesirable monopolies,” the top court said.
Under the existing provisions of the BCCI constitution, their continuance as president and secretary would have faced legal hurdles as both have already had three-year stints in Bengal and Gujarat cricket associations respectively prior to their elections to the present posts.
The top court’s order came on the Board’s plea seeking to amend its constitution concerning the tenure of its office bearers including its President Sourav Ganguly and Secretary Jay Shah by doing away with the mandatory cooling-off period between tenures of office bearers across state cricket associations and the BCCI.
The BCCI, in its proposed amendment, suggested that the requirement of cooling-off will kick in after one has served two consecutive terms in the BCCI, irrespective of their term of service in the State Association.
This would enable Ganguly and Shah to continue in office as President and Secretary despite them having completed six years at respective state cricket associations.
The tenure of Sourav Ganguly as BCCI president and Jay Shah as BCCI secretary is set to expire in September 2022.
(With agency inputs)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here