Home News Business Bank Holiday: Are Bank Branches Closed Today? Check City-Wise List

Bank Holiday: Are Bank Branches Closed Today? Check City-Wise List

Bank Holiday: Are Bank Branches Closed Today?  Check City-Wise List

New Delhi: Bank branches in several cities of the country will remain closed today on account of Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti/Bohag Bihu/Cheiraoba/Vaisakhi/Baisakhi/Tamil New Year’s Day/Maha Bisubha Sankranti/Biju Festival/Buisu Festival as per the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Holiday list. However online banking activities will continue to work.

Hence, if you want to visit your bank branch for any bank related important work today, you must first check the RBI holiday list and also if any local festivals are being observed in your state.

While some bank holidays are observed nation-wide, some others will be local holidays for which bank branches are closed in a month. Several bank branches will remain closed in various states owing to these festivities. Before visiting your bank branch in the remaining days of April, you must note down the list of important days during which banks will remain closed.

Banks will be closed all over India today except Shillong.

Bank Holiday List in April 2023

Banks will remain closed for total 16 days in the month of April– 11 as per the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar list and the remaining days are that of weekends. However, you must note that the banks will NOT be closed for 16 days in all states or regions. This is the total number of days when banks in different parts of the country will remain closed for state-observed holidays.

For example bank branches might be closed for Babu Jagjivan Ram’s Birthday in Hyderabad but not closed for the same in Goa, Bihar or other states.

Here is an elaborate list of bank holidays falling in the month of April 2023. Check out the list.

April 14: Ambedkar Jayanti (Banks will be closed all over India except Bhopal, New Delhi, Raipur, Shillong, and Shimla)

April 15: Vishu, Bohag, Bihu, Himachal Day, Bengali New Year (Bank holiday will be witnessed in Agartala, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Shimla, and Trivandrum)

April 16: Sunday

April 18: Shab-I-Qadr (Bank branches will be closed in Jammu and Kashmir)

April 21: Id-ul-Fitr (Banks will be closed in Tripura, Jammu & Kashmir, and Kerala)

April 22: Fourth Saturday

April 23: Sunday

April 30: Sunday

Reserve Bank of India places its Holidays under three brackets — Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act; Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday; and Banks’ Closing of Accounts. However, it must be noted that the bank holidays vary in various states as well as not observed by all the banking companies. Banking holidays also depend on the festivals being observed in specific states or notification of specific occasions in those states.

Holidays of the mentioned days will be observed in various regions according to the state declared holidays, however for the gazetted holidays, banks will be closed all over the country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here