The claim for the post of CM will be weak! Siddaramaiah did not get second seat

The claim for the post of CM will be weak!  Siddaramaiah did not get second seat

Siddaramaiah Sidelined from Kolar Seat: The Congress on Saturday (April 15) released its third list of 43 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023. In which veteran BJP leader and former Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi was fielded from the Athani assembly seat, while veteran Congressman and former CM Siddaramaiah was denied the second seat, Kolar.

Congress rejected Siddaramaiah’s request to contest from Kolar assembly constituency. Instead, the party has fielded Kothurji Manjunath from there. While the Congress candidate from Athani, Savadi was a prominent Lingayat face in the BJP, who had resigned from the Legislative Council after being denied a ticket by the party. After which he joined the Congress on Friday (14).

Siddaramaiah was keen on the second seat, Kolar
Siddaramaiah contested the last election from two seats Chamundeshwari and Badami and won. This time also Congress leaders wanted to contest from two seats Varuna and Kolar. However, due to strong opposition from within the party, he will have to contest only from Varuna. This decision of the high command is being linked to the claim for the post of CM. It is believed that DK Shivakumar is getting tough on the former CM, as he was insisting from the beginning that no one would be allowed to contest from two seats.

Siddaramaiah was keen on the second seat as he expected a tough fight in Varuna, which was earlier represented by his son Yatindra. The BJP has fielded V Somanna, a Karnataka minister from Varuna and a prominent Lingayat face of the saffron party. There are 16 new faces in the third list of 43 Congress candidates. While the party has so far announced candidates for 209 seats, the names for the remaining 15 seats are yet to be announced.

Rebel leaders getting tickets
The Congress party is yet to announce a candidate for Hubli-Dharwad Central, as the party may field former CM Jagadish Shettar, upset over not getting a ticket from the BJP, if he joins the Congress. Despite Shettar’s rebellion, if the BJP high command refuses to give him a ticket, he too can join the Congress like Savadi. KM Shivalingowda and NH Konareddy, who quit JDS and joined Congress, have been given tickets from Arasikere and Navalgund. Former officer Bhimsen Rao Shinde has been given ticket from Aurad (Surak) seat to take on sitting minister Prabhu Chavan, who has been winning from there since 2004.

Filmmaker Umapati Srinivasa Gowda’s name has been announced for the Bommanahalli seat, where he will take on BJP’s Satheesh Reddy. However, four more such names, namely S Ramappa from Harihar, V Muniyappa from Shidalaghatta, DS Hulageri from Lingasguru, and Akhand Srinivasamurthy from Pulakeshinagar in Bengaluru, have been put on hold. It is being told that their names can now be announced possibly on Sunday or Monday.

Triangular contest on former CM Siddaramaiah’s seat
Meanwhile, JDS, a regional party in Karnataka, released the list of candidates for six more seats on Saturday. In which former minister and senior Congress functionary AB Malakareddy has been given ticket from Yadgir, while former Congress MLC Raghu Achar has been fielded from Chitradurga. In Varuna, the party has fielded former BJP MLA Bharti Shankar in a triangular contest against Congress’ former CM Siddaramaiah and BJP’s Housing Minister V Somanna. Former CM Yediyurappa’s nephew NR Santhosh who joined JDS after getting angry at not being given ticket by BJP. He is being told the possibility of being the party’s candidate from Arsikere.

read this also- Karnataka Election 2023: ‘Don’t know why BJP did not give ticket’, former Karnataka CM Jagadish Shettar said – I resign…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here