IPL 2023 Final To Be Played In Ahmedabad, Chennai To Host 2 Playoff Matches; Check Full Schedule Announced By BCCI

IPL 2023 Final To Be Played In Ahmedabad, Chennai To Host 2 Playoff Matches;  Check Full Schedule Announced By BCCI

IPL 2023 Final will be played at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, BCCI announced on Friday. Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium and Ahmedabad have been chosen as the venues for the IPL 2023 playoffs and final. BCCI announced the playoffs and final will be played from May 23 to May 28 in Chennai and Ahmedabad. Qualifier 1 will be held on May 23 at Chepauk followed by the Eliminator on May 24. The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host Qualifier 2 as well as the IPL final on May 26 and 28 respectively.

Check the full schedule of Playoffs and final below:

Gujarat Titans are the defending champions this year. With Ahmedabad as the IPL 2023 final, it provides them with a golden chance to repeat history at their home ground. At the same time, Chennai fans will be hoping Super Kings get to play the Qualifier 1 on May 23 at Chepauk so that they could witness ‘Thala’ Dhoni one more time at the homeground.

How does IPL 2023 Points Table Read After Match 28

Rajasthan Royals sit atop the IPL 2023 Points Table with 4 wins from 6 games. Lucknow Super Giants have won same number of matches but they are placed at second spot due to difference in Net Run Rate (NRR). On third spot are Chennai Super Kings with 3 wins from 5 games. There are four more teams with same points (6). They are Titans, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings. Kolkata Knight Riders eighth on the points table with just 2 wins from 6 games and while Sunrisers Hyderabad are on number 9. Delhi Capitals finally opened their account on Thursday night after losing 6 matches on the trot but are still the bottom-placed team in the league.

Explaining Qualifiers and Eliminators In IPL

IPL follows a playoff format to decide the two finalists. In this, the top 2 teams get an additional chance to qualify for the summit clash. At the end of the group stage, top 4 teams of the league will go into playoffs. The top 2 will play Qualifier 1. The winner of this match enters the final. The loser is however still not out of the competition. That team will wait for the winner of Eliminator 1 which will be played between third ranked and fourth ranked teams. The loser of Qualifier 1 will then play the winner of Eliminator and the team that registers a victory in Qualifier 2 goes into the final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here