Mission 2024: With 3-tier UP plan, BJP eyes big gains in Lok Sabha polls | India News


NEW DELHI: Eyeing big gains in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has formulated a comprehensive plan to reclaim the 144 Lok Sabha seats where the party did not fare well in the previous general election.
The special focus of the plan is the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh, which sends 80 members to Lok Sabha.
In UP, the BJP had won 62 out of the 80 seats while its ally Apna Dal (S) bagged 2. Later, in the Lok Sabha bypolls, the party won two more seats of Azamgarh and Rampur – considered the bastions of SP.
Now, the party is looking to reclaim seats such as Saharanpur, Bijnor, Nagina, Moradabad, Sambhal, Amroha, Ambedkar Nagar, Shrawasti, Lalganj, Ghosi, Jaunpur and Ghazipur from its opponents.


In focus are the high-profile constituencies including Sonia Gandhi’s Rae Bareli and Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Mainpuri. In the previous elections, BJP had managed to wrest Amethi from Congress’s Rahul Gandhi. The seat was considered a stronghold of the grand old party.
Three-tier plan
The party has formulated a three-layered plan to reclaim the Lok Sabha seats in UP. The plan is said to be the brainchild of BJP national general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh.
It has been discussed threadbare with the party high command, including PM Narendra Modi, home minister Amit Shah and BJP national president JP Nadda.
Most of the 144 constituencies include those the party had lost in the 2019 polls, but a few winning seats are also part of the list due to difficult demographic and regional factors, sources said.
According to party sources, the first layer would comprise the central leadership which includes Shah, Nadda and Santhosh himself. These leaders would interact with the second layer of party leaders – CM Yogi Adityanath, UP BJP chief Bhupendra Chaudhary and a host of other state leaders.
The third layer is of Union ministers who have been deputed for the constituencies BJP lost.
Union agriculture minister Narendra Singh Tomar has been assigned Rae Bareli, the Lok Sabha constituency of Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, Ambedkar Nagar, Shravasti and Mau.
Similarly, railways minister Ashwini Vaishnaw has been given the responsibility of Saharanpur, Nagina and Bijnor, while minister of state in PMO Jitendra Singh has been given the responsibility of Mainpuri, the Lok Sabha seat of SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav.
These leaders will act as a bridge between the state leadership and central committee while coming up with their independent feedback about the weak assembly segments, issues in favour and against the party and the larger caste equations. In case of UP, state general secretary Amar Pal Maurya has been asked to facilitate the ministers to gain input.
The plan mirrors RSS’s strategy of putting in place a well-knit network of senior leaders and grassroots functionaries for a coordinated campaign.
Timing of the plan
The BJP’s revived push has come when Congress’s Rahul Gandhi is leading a 3,570-km padyatra to galvanise support for his party for the 2024 polls.

Opposition chief ministers such as Arvind Kejriwal, Nitish Kumar, K Chandrashekar Rao and Mamata Banerjee are striving for a national unity front against the Modi government.
Telangana CM KCR has already announced his intention to float a new national party which will focus on other states such as Karnataka and Gujarat, where the BJP is in a dominant position.

Meanwhile, Congress is looking to consolidate on its gain with its 150-day padyatra, which plans to cover Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra among other states.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here